What is Halal ?

What is Halal ?

Halal simply means permissible or lawful. Halal foods mean any foods that are allowed to consume by Muslims. It must comply with the religious ritual and observance of Sharia law. Sharia is the body of Islamic law. The term means “way” or “path”; it is the legal framework within which the public and some private aspects of life are regulated for those living in a legal system based on Islam.

Muslim Girl Eat Halal Burger
Source: Muslim Press


The most common example of non-halal (or haram) food is pork (pig meat products). While pork is the only meat that cannot be consumed by Muslims, other foods not in a state of purity are also considered haram. The criteria for non-pork items are including the source, the cause of death of the animals, and how it was processed. It also depends on the Muslim’s madhab, or school of thought within Islamic Jurisprudence..

Muslims must also ensure that all foods (particularly processed foods), as well as non-food items like cosmetics and pharmaceuticals, are halal. Frequently, these products contain animal by-products or other ingredients that are not permissible for Muslims to eat or use on their bodies. Foods that are not considered halal for Muslims to consume include blood and intoxicants, such as alcoholic beverages. If there is no halal food available and a Muslim is forced by necessity, then a Muslim is allowed to eat non-halal food in order to prevent death due to starvation.

Foods and products which are Halal are as follows:

  • Non-alcohol foods or beverages
  • Seafood (except mammals on the sea)
  • Halal meats (non-pork and non-claws animals, which are slaughtered by Muslims or People of the Books)
  • Insects
  • Vegetarian foods (not contain any type of wine or alcohol
Halal Meats
Source : tribune.com.pk


In Islam, animals slaughtered by Christians or Jews are Halal (only if the slaughter is carried out by jugular insurgency and mentioned before slaughter, that the purpose is of permissible consumption and the slaughter is carried out following the name of the God {indicating that you are grateful for God’s blessings}), unless explicitly prohibited, like pork. The requirement to invoke Allah’s name is a must. In other words, the word aʻām refers to dhabīah meat; i.e., the meat prepared after the slaughter of an animal by cutting the throat (i.e., the jugular vein, the carotid arteries, and the trachea) and Allâh’s name is invoked during the slaughter. Once slaughtered, the animal’s blood must drain completely, since Muslims do not consume animals’ blood. Moreover, the knife used for slaughtering the animal has to be very sharp, so that it will reduce the pain of the animal itself due to the rupture of the jugular pain and cause an instant death. Because of the strict rules on how to slaughter the animals, Halal foods are considered healthier and contain less disease carried by the animals.

Kosher meats, which are consumed by Jews, are permitted to be eaten by Muslims. This is due to the similarity between both methods of slaughter and the similar principles of kosher meat which are still observed by the observant Jews today.

Moreover, because of a certain amount of rules need to be addressed, ready-to-eat foods prepared in restaurants or sold in supermarket need to be prepared by Muslim chefs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: